Newcastle University

Newcastle University

Newcastle University Is a public research university which traces its origins to a School of Medicine and Surgery (later the College of Medicine), established in 1834, and to the College of Physical Science (later renamed Armstrong College), founded in 1871. These two colleges came to form one division of the federal University of Durham, with the Durham Colleges forming the other. The Newcastle colleges merged to form King’s College in 1937. In 1963, following an Act of Parliament, King’s College became the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.


The University of Newcastle is located in the North-East of England.

Why Newcastle?

Newcastle University can be described as a red brick university

It is a member of the Russell Group an association of research-intensive UK universities. The university has one of the largest EU research portfolios in the UK.

It attracts over 20,000 students from more than 120 different countries. Teaching and research are delivered in 24 academic schools and 40 research institutes and research Centre, spread across three Faculties: the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; the Faculty of Medical Sciences; and the Faculty of Science, Agriculture and Engineering. The university offers around 175 full-time undergraduate degree programmes in a wide range of subject areas spanning arts, sciences, engineering and medicine, together with approximately 340 postgraduate taught and research programmes across a range of disciplines.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *