Northumbria university

Northumbria university

Northumbria University, officially the University of Northumbria at Newcastle, is a university located in Newcastle upon Tyne in the North East of England. A former polytechnic, it was established as one of the new universities in 1992.

It is a member of the University Alliance and the second university of Newcastle.

Northumbria University has its origins in three regional colleges: Rutherford College of Technology, the College of Art & Industrial Design and the Municipal College of Commerce.

Newcastle Polytechnic

In 1969, these three institutions were amalgamated to form Newcastle Polytechnic. The Polytechnic became the major regional centres for the training of teachers with the incorporation of the City College of Education in 1974, and the Northern Counties College of Education in 1976.

University status

In 1992, Newcastle Polytechnic was inaugurated as the new Northumbria University as part of the UK-wide process in which polytechnics became new universities. It was originally styled, and its official name still is, the University of Northumbria at Newcastle but the trading name was simplified to Northumbria University in 2002.

The university has two large Campuses City Campus located in the center of Newcastle upon Tyne and Coach Lane, located 2.6 miles (4 km) outside of Newcastle, on Coach Lane.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *