University of New England

University of New England

The University of New England was formed in 1938 as the New England University College, a College of the University of Sydney. The University became fully independent in 1954 and pioneered teaching to external students by correspondence, making UNE Australia’s most experienced provider of distance and now online education.

UNE is Australia’s oldest regional university offering more than 200 courses at undergraduate, postgraduate coursework and higher degree research levels. UNE has more than 20,000 current students and 1,200 staff.


The University of New England is located on several sites in Armidale. The northern campus of the University is five kilometres to the northwest of the city centre, in an attractive rural and bushland setting.

Research Services

Research Services facilitates and supports the University’s research effort through provision of administrative services and support to manage, develop and promote research, research training, knowledge transfer and innovation.


The University of New England has ten Schools specialising in a wide range academic fields:

  • School of Arts
  • School of Behavioural, Cognitive and Social Sciences
  • School of Education
  • School of Environmental and Rural Science
  • School of Health
  • School of Humanities
  • School of Law
  • School of Rural Medicine
  • School of Science and Technology
  • UNE Business School.